December 7, 2009

  • TB

    I just heard a report on our local news that there’s an outbreak of TB at one of our local high schools.  I thought that was a disease we had conquered decades ago, but apparently not.  I think TB is eminently treatable, but still.  Who gets TB these days?  Ironically, that particular high school has only a handful of minority students (who would be the usual suspect for something like that), most of whom were recruited under the “freedom of choice” policy to play football.  It’s a very middle, to upper-middle-class institution, and it’s the last place I would expect to find tuberculosis.  Who knew?

    ED

Comments (1)

  • wow, that is shocking actually; I mean I’m with you I thought it was eradicated at least 50 years ago. what does it say about the environment that we live in that diseases that we beat are now making a comeback.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *