December 21, 2009

  • Snow

    We’re not having any snow, although we did one year around this time.  It stayed on the ground for several days, and we actually had a white Christmas.  Our kids were too little to really appreciate it, and it pissed me off because it killed a hedge I had planted (Virburnum).

    Tonight at a dinner party I was in the “guy room” with three men who grew up in the North.  I had always heard about snow chains and snow tires, and tonight I learned about the differences between them.  The guys tonight (Boston, Philadelphia, and Detroit) all favored snow chains.  They said they’re a pain to put on, but they also said they’re way better than snow tires.

    Since I’ve had no experience with either, I couldn’t comment.  But all their talk about snow and its perils got me wondering why the southern part of this country wasn’t more highly settled than the North was.  We almost never have snow, and when we do it’s a welcomed novelty for a day or two.  That’s only happened three times in the 36 years I’ve lived here.  It’s true we have hurricanes, but we haven’t had one of those in four or five years.  Plus, snowy weather is cold.  We get temperatures in the 30′s, as we will tomorrow morning, but it’ll be in the 50′s by mid day.

    I don’t know why more people don’t move to the South, especially the coastal South.

    ED

Comments (1)

  • i think snow tires and snow chains are a thing of the past; ive never had to use them and come to think of it, i dont think ive ever even seen them.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *