December 22, 2009

  • Christmas Night

    We’ve had a big “family” gathering at our house on Christmas night for about 33 years or so.  I might be off by a year or two, but I don’t think so.  We missed a few years ago when we went to Colorado and Virginia for Christmas a couple of years to be with our kids at their houses, but this gathering has been pretty continuous except for that couple of years.

    This year we’re expecting 19 people. It’s going to be red beans and rice and ham, I think, judging from the huge ham Beth brought home from the gorcery store today.  The ham was in a net plastic bag, and the bag had handles on it.  It was a serious piece of meat.

    The reason I’m concerned about numbers is 1.) I have to set the table, and 2.) I have to account for the “correct” number of Holiday china plates and silverware.  We have quite a large amount of china and silver, but we don’t have enough china for 19 people.  I know I can borrow china from friends because I’ve done it before.  The irony?  Maybe we shoulden’t invite so many people. But, ironically, how can we not?  Family is family, plus we’ll serve the three kids cheese pizza on paper plates, and they won’t know the difference for several years to come.

    ED

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *