Month: February 2010

  • Liza Time

    It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve written an entry here, and I apologize for my laziness to any readers who have missed seeing what I have to say.  I am fully recovered from my recent injuries, and I’m fully back to normal.

    Saturday we had Liza for the day, as usual, and we took her to the home of some friends on a 7-acre farm not far from our house.  They have a few cows, a donkey, about two dozen goats, and a few chickens.  They had a whole yard of chickens last summer, but two foxes got in the hen house and wiped out their flock. 

    It was a real pleasure watching Liza with the farm animals and with all the open space to play in.  Two other kids were there, and the three of them had a ball. 

    I’ll try to do better with my updates now that I’m feeling completely well.

    ED

  • Anniversary

    Today is the 4th anniversary of the opening of Liza’s Kitchen.  Cat and Mike had only been back in Florida for about 3 months when they opened the restaurant, and it has grown steadily since that Valentine’s Day in 2005.  Today they had one of their best days in sales in the four years they’ve been open.

    ED

  • Tripper, RIP

    This morning my son-in-law, Mike, had to have his dog put to sleep.  Her name was Tripper, and she was thirteen years old and very infirm.  Mike got her when she was a puppy, and the first thing he did was to drive from Florida to California alone with the puppy in his lap.  Her name comes from that trip, and she was a loyal friend through all those years.  She was a black Labradore Retriever, and she weighed about 100 pounds.  She was extremely gentle and friendly, although at the end she couldn’t even stand up or control her bodily functions.  Mike is very sad, of course, but he knew he did the right thing for his buddy.

    They told Liza this morning that Tripper wouldn’t be at home when she got back from school today.  They told her Tripper was going home to God.  Liza cried a little, but she’ll be fine.  Liza told her teacher about Tripper first thing this morning, and the class said a prayer for Tripper (Liza goes to a Catholic school).

    I’m sad about Tripper, but I also know Mike would never have put her to sleep if it wasn’t the best thing for her.  Liza wants to get a cat now, but her mother doesn’t see that happening.  Liza’s teacher used Tripper’s passing for a religion lesson, and that can only be a good thing.

    ED

  • Valentine’s Day

    I’ve never been much on Valentine’s Day, but it seems that it’s getting more and more popular every year.  One thing people like to do, of course, is to go out for a nice meal.  Last night a local TV station did a feature story on places to eat for VD, and they included Liza’s Kitchen.  They actually won’t be open for the evening meal, but they interviewed Chef Mike about things that people can cook at home to celebrate the occasion.  Mike did a great job, and you’ve got to love free publicity.

    ED

  • Recovering

    I was discharged from the rehab center last Friday, and I’m making good progess on my recovery.  I now walk without the aid of a walker or cane, and I can go up and down the stairs easily.  My ribs are feeling better, although they do still hurt from time to time.  I haven’t started driving yet, but I see that happening in a few days.  Meanwhile, I am becoming increasingly addicted to HGTV, and I’m been doing a good bit of reading.

    Love to all.  I appreciate your concern and best wishes.

    ED