March 6, 2009

  • Free Haircut

    I got my hair cut this morning.  Since it was the thirteenth consecutive one on my haircut card, it was free.  I usually give the girl a three dollar tip on a thirteen dollar haircut, but I wanted to give her five dollars today since it was free.  I took out what I thought was a five from my wallet and gave it to her. 

    “Let me give you your change,” she said.

    “No, that’s alright.  That’s your tip,” I said.

    “No, you gave me a fifty, and you need change,” she said.

    “Oh, shit!” I said, and she and the girl who was standing there laughed hard.

    You know you’re old and starting to lose it when you can’t tell a fifty dollar bill from a five.  That girl is a superb stylist, but she’s also an honest woman.  And I appreciate that.

    ED

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *