December 9, 2009

  • Holiday Party

    Tonight we went to the Holiday Party for the Council on Aging.  All of the Board Members and staff got door prizes, and I chose a box of Belgium chocolate.  Beth told me not to open it because she intends to re-gift that stuff.  I had a momentary flash of rebellion and wanted to open it on the spot, but I quickly relented.  She actually told me to open if I wanted to, but the look in her eye told me I really didn’t want me to.

    Liza’s Kitchen catered the event tonight, and they served Caribbean pork roast, baked chicken breast with glazed onions, roasted red potatoes, carrots in butter sauce, and fried green tomatoes.  They also had a salad.  The desserts were ugly but tasty.  Liza’s Kitchen didn’t provide the desserrts.

    This is the third or fourth time Liza’s Kitchen has catered an event for the Council on Aging, and every time they do that my heart swells with pride over what my daughter, and her husband, have accomplished.  They fed 95 people a fantastic meal tonight.  They gave the Council on Aging a special price because of me, but they made a profit tonight. And you can’t get much better than that.

    ED

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *