December 10, 2009

  • So Many Things–Where to Begin

    A lot of things happened today that had an element of irony, so I think I’m going to take them in chronological order.

    1. I got up this morning and had a couple of glasses of water.  I tend to sleep with my mouth open because of nasal congestion (I know; TMI), so I always drink water first thing in the morning.  Then I went downstairs and got a couple of cups of coffee.  Then I brushed my teeth.  Then I almost threw up.  The water from the tap in my bathroom was SALT water, saltier than the Gulf of Mexico, even.  We have a Culligan water filtration system, but evidently it was malfunctioning.  I didn’t shave this morning (imagine shaving your face with salt water!).  This being Thursday, our housekeeper was here.  Beth was long gone, so I left to go buy lunch for some friends and take it to them.  I left the garage door open for the Culligan Man.
    2. I left my friends’ house around one o’clock headed home.  About 1:10 I got a call from the Council on Aging.  “Are you teaching the computer class this afternoon?”  Oh, my!  I had completely forgotten about that.  I felt so stupid.  I immediately turned my car around in some family’s circular driveway (thanks, guys) and headed back to the Council on Aging.  When I got there, the activity center/computer lab was locked, and nobody was waiting for me.  They had evidently gone home, as I would have.  I mean, they were standing outside, and it was cold.  Again I felt like a complete fool.  Students miss classes, NOT teachers.  I called all three ladies in the class, and I was able to leave messages for two of them.  I’ll call the third lady again tomorrow.
    3. Culligan fixed the problem with our water this afternoon.  I made the mistake of asking the repair guy what was wrong, and he told me all the technical details.  The only word I knew that he said was “piston,” and I didn’t really know what that meant in that context.  I was standing outside in a short sleeve tee shirt at the time, and I was freezing.  Not really freezing, but “Florida freezing,” which means it was about 53 degrees F.
    4. A couple of weeks ago I wrote about a complaint I lodged with the Red Lobster Corporation about my wife and her mother having trouble with their salt and pepper grinders.  Beth was in a cast on her left hand at the time, and her mother, at 91, is fairly weak.  I said they needed “handicapped” saltshakers.  Well, today I got a letter from Red Lobster apologizing for any inconvenience their experience might have caused.  It said in the letter that they had instructed their stores, when they first put in the salt and pepper grinders, to have on hand traditional salt and pepper shakers for those who requested them.  Well, the store Beth and Jane went to didn’t have them.  They said they would work with that store to correct the problem.  It was a real nice letter, and they sent us $25 worth of gift certificates.  This sounds to me like a happy ending to an unfortunate failure to anticipate the needs of all their guests.

    That’s it for today.

    ED

Comments (4)

  • Just wanted to share my excitement. I woke up at 4 a.m. (don’t all old men parade to the bathroom about that time?) and looked out the window to see humongous flames a short distance away. I dressed quickly and went to the street. About 3 lots away a two story apartment was in flames. The 6 residents were OK. The very unkempt old building was an accident waiting to happen anyway, probably faulty wiring. The great BR fire department had apparently unleashed many truck without sirens blaring. Firemen with oxygen packs were hard at work. I stood with neighbors about 2 hours and decided to walk around the block to check on friends whose house was directly behind the apartment. As I got halfway an apartment complex that has parking in front near the sidewalk had one of thioe low concrete car stop barriers that had been displaced over 3/4 of the sidewalk. Not noticing it I fell. My pride was hurt but also my left forehead sustained a nice bump, scratches and bruises along with a few minor scratches on hands and knees, bent eyeglasses– thankfully no broken bones. I had planned a “get away” overnite to Ocean Springs, Ms. to shop, eat and see museums. I guess the Chanber of Commerce will have to forego my financial contribution to their economy while I lay low and lick my wounds. Looks like it’s gonna rain anyway. And I do have to wrap Christmas presents and get about 60 Christmas Newsletters in the mail. At least I don’t have to drink “salt water”. Have a great day!  Just wish I had a LIZA’S CAFE nearby. HOWARD

  • @vicarhoward - Howard,  I’m sorry you took a fall, but I’m glad it wasn’t more serious than it was.  The house two doors down from us caught on fire during the night a few years ago, and such things are really terrifying.  The fire was discovered by the boy next door who had gone outside to smoke a cigarette before going to bed.  He and his dad rescued the man in the burning house.  His father later told me that might be the first case on record where smoking actually saved a life.

  • Yesterday when I got up it was 0 degrees out and at that time I would have loved Florida cold.
    Isn’t it nice when a company takes the time to respond with a letter…………..and gift certificates!

  • Yesterday when I got up it was 0 degrees out and at that time I would have loved Florida cold.
    Isn’t it nice when a company takes the time to respond with a letter…………..and gift certificates!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *