December 11, 2009

  • Holidays Festivities

    I went to a holiday breakfast this morning at Meals on Wheels headquarters for all the volunteers associated with the Council on Aging.  There were probably 75 people there, but there were only a handful of MOW volunteers.  I ate at their table, and there were some very interesting people.  We had a Board meeting right after that, which is the only reason I got up early enough to go to the breakfast.  They gave each of us a live poinsettia and a bag filled with stocking-stuffer things.  I thought that was pretty nice.

    On a totally unrelated topic, Catherine called us tonight to see if we had a large coffee maker that she could borrow for a catering they have tomorrow.  We don’t have one, but I thought I remembered that one of Catherine’s godmothers had one.  I called her on my cell while we were talking to Catherine, and it turns out she has two of those things.  I put my cell phone on speaker, and we had a very nice conversation to work that all out.  This is reason number 1,276 why Catherine and Mike were smart to move back here after Liza was born.  Their ”bench” is so deep as to be almost incomprehensible.  They have a thriving business that they built with help from their vast extended family, and Liza has grandparents, a great-grandparent, and lots of aunts and uncles who all think she hung the moon.  This little girl is going to have an AWESOME Christmas, and the adults are going to have an awesome time with her.  Christmas night her “cousins” are going to be here, and those kids are going to have a fantastic time playing.  They always do.

    I really do have a great life, and I think the rest of my family does, too.

    ED

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *