January 17, 2010

  • Long Absence

    Some of you who read this more or less regularly have probably wondered why I haven’t been posting. The simple reason is I had an accident and have been in the hospital–and now in rehab–since December 29th.  I missed a step on our stairs at home, and I went down.  It was the fifth step from the bottom, but it was still enough to cause several fractured ribs, a broken shoulder, and a broken collar bone.  I didn’t need surgery, thank God, but I’m slowing learning how to use all my parts again.  I can walk with support, and I can scoot around in a wheelchair pretty efficiently.  I’m home right now on an afternoon furlough, but I suspect to be in rehab for about three more weeks.

    My wife has been the perfect helpmate and companion, and she continues to be.  Our daughters have been models of solicitude, and my friends have been devoted and more than kind.  I certainly don’t recommend what happened to me, but it could have been a lot worse. 

    I don’t have access to a computer at the rehab center, as far as I know, but I’ll post as often as I can in the days and weeks ahead.

    I covet your pryers, and I thank everyone who has offered good wishes.

    ED

Comments (4)

  • As you recall, about a month ago I tripped on one of those moveable concrete car stops. You didn’t have to copy me. As painful as my scratches and bruises I didn’t have any broken places (except my pride). I am so sorry to hear of the several areas you hurt and the rehab needed. Glad to know that you are getting lots of TLC. Prayers and drink lots of Florida Orange Juice. HOWARD

  • I was just wondering last night if you were all right. Glad to hear you’re doing decently, sorry to hear that you took a fall, though. How scary that must’ve been for you and your family for a little bit! You’ve certainly got my prayers for a proper recovery!

  • I’m praying for you!  I sure can sympathize; was laid up for a long time with a broken hip and pelvis a few years ago.

      Lots of Love and support from Asia!!  {{{{{Very gentle Hugs}}}}}  ~ Sil

  • wow, that is awful but am glad to hear that it wasn’t any worse. Those steps can be dangerous, I have fallen down stairs before and its not a fun trip, however mine was not nearly as serious as yours. Take care of yourself though, I hope you are back in full force soon.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *