September 24, 2006

  • Lawyer at the Deli

    This afternoon I did our weekly grocery shopping, and I wanted to get some sliced coldcuts from the deli.  I happened to be wearing a Queen Mary 2 shirt that I bought on our cruise last summer, and the girl behind the counter asked me if I had been on a cruise on that ship.  I told her I had been.


    “I plan to go to Europe after I get my law school student loans paid off,” she said.


    “Did you say law school?” I asked.


    “Yes,” she said.


    “Are you a practicing attorney?” I asked.


    “Yes.  I work in the Public Defender’s office.  This is just my weekend job to make money to pay off those debts,” she said.


    We exchanged other pleasantries while she sliced my Havarti, but I thought it incredibly ironic that a practicing attorney would be working in a grocery store on a Sunday afternoon.  Of course, it is a very nice grocery store, and they do have some high quality people working there, but still.  It just seems wrong somehow.


    ED

Comments (2)

  • hello there. :) I also have a Queen Mary 2 shirt, except my one says ‘Inaugural Season,’ which makes people believe I went on the inaugural season cruises… But you see, I didn’t.. I went on a cruise through the Caribbean during December 2004, and I got the ‘Inaugural Season’ shirt as it was far cheaper than all the other shirts.
    Did you enjoy your trip aboard the Queen Mary 2? For me, it was one of the most relaxing experiences I have ever partaken in. There is nothing like lying on deck and watching the blue ocean rolling by… it sort of just absorbs you completely.
    Anyway, saw that you had viewed my blog, so I thought I’d pop along to yours too. :)
    Cheerio. ;)

  • Fascinating information I haven’t been experienced such information in quite a long time.Legal Blog

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *